Koyo Do-More PLC Digital/Analog Inputs

MannyH

Hello all, I am a recent graduate at my first job tasked with a PLC project. I need to control a linear actuator given feedback from several limit/interlock switches and safety mats (D.I), and also from an analog signal which is a position-sensing potentiometer on the actuator. From the university I have some experience programming embedded control systems with microcontoller units, and I have a little experience modifying some Allen Bradley PLC ladder logic programs during a previous internship.

We have chosen the Do-More line of PLC's by Koyo from Automationdirect.com. The hardware has not arrived yet, but I have downloaded their free programming environment and have been studying their instruction set trying to figure out the best approach for programming this. I am having a hard time figuring out how to manipulate the i/o available on the controller. For example, if I was doing this on an Arduino-type language, I would write an infinite loop that goes through and constantly reads each sensor using functions like analogRead() and digitalRead(). Those values would be stored in variables, which would then be used throughout the program to control the process.

Looking through the instruction-set available I don't see any instructions to simply read the current value of an input pin on the controller and store it in a variable. At the end of this post I will list the instructions available under the "Analog/Process" section of the instruction-set. I have a feeling that I am missing something fairly straightforward. Any assistance that can be given to guide me in the right direction will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Manny

Instruction Set:
ALDEV - Deviation Alarm
ALHILO - High/Low Alarm
ALRATE - Rate of Change Alarm
CLAMP - Limit Range
DEADBAND - Set Outside Deadband
FILTER - First-Order Filter
INTEGRAT - Integrate Over Time
PID - Closed Loop Controller
PIDINIT - Set PID Tuning Constants