Step counter

Hauke David

I have just gained access to a plc at work and already struggle with the step counters in the ladder diagramm.
Are there any rules or methods to understand the usage of step counters.
Please bear in mind that I am a beginner.
Any advice will be appreciated.

RTFM

Go to AB.com and select Support. From Support, select Online Manuals.
Find the Control Processor manual for the SLC instruction set. (I'd post a link, but I think they make you register first.

Read the section on CTUs.

The only important things:
  • They increment on a low-to-high transition (so there's no need to put a one-shot in front of them). But that also means that the input condition must go from high-to-low for them to "see" the next puls.
  • They need to be reset at some point to go back to zero. That's the RES command.

If you have more specific questions, post again.

I'm going to stick my neck out on this one. What do you mean by "step counter"? I'm not familiar with that term. My best guesses:

(1) you're asking how the CTU (count up) instructions work. (If so then Allen's post should help a bunch).

(2) you're asking about some programming technique which has been documented as a "step counter" by a previous programmer.

If you're asking about this last item, then you'll probably have to give us an example of the program structure that's puzzling you.

I am curious now, is this a spot welder and the item or welder moves down a line? I saw something like that done before, the counter was to count when the welds were made (in my case it wasnt welding but same principle) then the item moved which increased count to activate next step. Once it reaches final count then it resets to begin again, either returns to start or waits for new piece.

Can you describe the system pertaining to the "STEPS"?

Hauke David,