AutoCAD Electrical 2k5 Question

CT782

I'm attempting to learn AcadE 2005. I'm new to Autocad period, so I don't have a background to draw from. I'm going pretty good so far I think (biased opinion), but some of the simpler things are confusing me. Perhaps someone can help me cure my ignorance?

If I insert a set of 3 phase wires using the "insert 3 phase wires" option from the pulldown menus, setting my "distance between wires to something like 1.25", then insert a component, such as a 3-pole disconnect. The component is drawn in about 3 times the size of my screen! So I select it and scale it to about 30% or something. Well Once I get the component scaled, the points ont he component never are spaced correctly to line up with my 3 phase wires. SO all that said, my question is, is there a way to create my drawing to that all the components are proportional to my drawing so I don't have to shrink everything I insert? And is there a way to scale a 3 pole component so that it's terminals line up with my pre-drawn 3 phase wires?

Thanks guys!
Chris

I don't have Autocad Electrical....

But I would look at every place where you can set dimension units, and make sure they are all either English or Metric.

I've already done that, I found a reference to that in an old post on here. I THINK that PART of my problem is that I'm trying to draw these simple practice prints I'm making up on a single screen without panning around. I'm sure there are project settings I need to set relating to that. If I insert one of the standard borders with project info, etc included, it's the size of the screen, the component I insert is bigger than THAT! I will scale them all down and re-save them if that's what I have to do, but surely someone at AutoDesk thought of this and there is an option. My main headache is getting those darn terminals to line up with my 3 phase wires so all my lines are pretty and straight.

Thanks
Chris

Chris,