Another Siemens FB vs FC thread.

Elcan

Lifetime Supporting Member
Yes, I'm sorry, I'm starting this topic again.
In my defense, I promise I tried to read on this forum and using other sources to get a good idea of what to do. Some of the answers I found are dated several years ago, so I don't know if the reasons exposed are still valid (due to new Step 7 functionality).
Probably I don't need a detailed explanation for your suggestions, just a short answer will be enough for me now. I need to make up my mind soon and start coding!

OK, this is the story. I'm very familiar with RSLogix 5000, and I use a lot of UDTs and Add-Ons. Now I started programming in TIA Portal V14, and I want to translate my Allen Bradley code to Step 7. I need to know whether I use FC (Function) or FB (Function Block).

I basically need your suggestions for 2 typical situations I have in RSLogix 5000:
1) Start/Stop motor Add-On.
Used, you guessed, to start and stop a motor. I just assign a Motor UDT to the Add-Ons and the motor is controlled from there.

2) The typical SCP Add-On to scale an analog input.

Thank you very much in advance!

To me, the FB vs FC debate is rooted in a simple question: do you need the block to remember anything from scan to scan internally? If yes (data, timers, whatever) an FB is probably your best bet. If no (like a math formula), then an FC is a good bet.

You can TECHNICALLY remember things in an FC by passing it as an INOUT, but that doesn't scale very well when you have blocks calling other blocks inside other blocks. FBs let you nest pretty deep, very easily (multi-instance). This gets pretty useful once you get the hang of it.

1) Start/Stop motor is probably an FB. The block probably needs to remember whether it is supposed to be on or not, and there may be some watchdog timers (did it turn on in time? did it turn off in time?). It really depends what data is stored in your Motor UDT, and how it all gets used.