Soft starters vs Inverters

Prince

Hello Everybody

During these years I have been just in working with Inverters for AC Motors. Now I have some suggestions to use soft starters in some purposes which does not need any special control. I am still a novice in this field. I started to read more about the softstarters but it is mostly about what they can do. can any body support me with info. about what they can not ?
and can they be connected to multi motors just as we normally do with inverters ?
and is the speed changable using them ?
What about start up boost features or brake ?

Soft starters are just that, soft starters. They do not vary speed, basically only ramp speed on start up and limit voltage and current.

Usually there are adjustments available to alter current limit, adjust ramp rate, etc. Many also have a soft stop function. This is typically used for pumps for example where there is a large head of water moving through a pipe. DOL start and instant stop cause pipe hammer, at the very least, and also tends to break bends and joints in the line due to sudden changes in water flow.

Normally, when a soft starter runs a motor up to speed, one uses a bypass contactor to take the soft starter out of circuit and the motor continues to run at full speed. The starter I normally use for pumps are manufactured by Sprecher & Schuh. They are soft start/stop, have an automatic bypass contactor built in and also thermal protection built in, They are also sold re-badged as AB. AB own Sprechur & Schuh.

I presume you reference to inverters means VSDs (variable speed drives). These also have ramp, current limit etc functions but stay in circuit all the time to allow variation of motor speed. They also soft start and stop drives but are much more expensive due to the fact that they CAN vary speed. Soft starters cannot.