Allen Bradley SMC soft starters...

OkiePC

Lifetime Supporting Member
Last week we had two issues with two different refrigeration compressor contactors. They are wye-start delta-run motors with contactor controls. Both issues were caused by problems with auxilliary contacts. While working on the second one (500HP) we found that the contactor is worn and in need of repair.

We are looking into the possibility of using soft starters instead of repairing these big expensive contactors. Specifically, I have been reading up on the Allen-Bradley SMC-Flex and the SMC-3 series.

Can anyone comment on these devices? I have never used them before, so I would like to go into my first project with my new company armed with as much info as possible.

Thanks in advance
Paul

Only have used them on small motors (less than 5 hp). One thing that I have made pretty standard though is I always use an isolation contactor with the SMC. This verifies that power is removed during a stop (or estop) and also prevents the technician from having 480VAC at the motor without the motor running.

Sorry I don't have any experience with the larger versions.

I've used a couple of Telemech soft starters on some 20kW motors and have been happy with them - a much nicer solution than star/delta starters when that sort of thing is required. I use mine similarly to Bruce in that I power the soft starter from a contactor and wire it to enable whenever power is applied.

If speed regulation could save you money, consider selecting a low-spec VSD to use as a soft starter.

One other thing: configure your soft starter to start at 50% voltage and a similar changeover time to emulate the orginal starter if that worked well.

I've used Cutler Hammer IT softstarts on 300 hp blower motors with excellent results.