Forces In Rslogix 5000

BIGE

This is for troubleshooting pourposes. How do you force I/O's in RSL5000? I'm new to it and am not having any luck. I know I,m missing some small detail somewhere.

Eric

may the force be with you ...

play around (SAFELY!) with these ideas and see if it starts making sense ... note that you cannot “force” internal tags ... only real-world inputs and outputs ... specifically, the “internal” tag in the figure can not be “forced” ...

[attachment]

go forth ... do great things ...

5k forces 2.jpg

Last edited:
and anticipating your next question: “how do you find what’s already been forced?” ...

[attachment]

hope this helps ...

5k force find.jpg

Last edited:
You cannot force internal bits????? What a pain. I normally use lots of internal bits for proving software and force (or set) them at will to get me through the process.

BobB said:
You cannot force internal bits????? What a pain. I normally use lots of internal bits for proving software and force (or set) them at will to get me through the process.
There is a HUGE difference between forcing and set/reset.
Inform yourself before making wild comments!

Gerry,

I am FULLY informed as to the difference between force and set and reset with respect to Omron PLCs.

Force a bit is force - brutal - effective - will stay that way until the force (or all forces) is cancelled. A bit can be forced on or off. Set and reset will set or reset the bit but this is then over ridden by the program, if the line of logic is completed to do this.

Cannot comment on how this works with the above mentioned processors but would imagine in a similar vein.

With Omron PLCs, force - set and reset are available on both EXTERNAL and INTERNAL bits. Change SV and PV are also available on the fly without going into online edit mode.

Allen-Bradley forces vs. Omron forces - any differences?

Greetings BobB,