PWM for DC motor

Paulmatrix

I am new to plc's and am looking at using input from an encoder to sync the speed of a DC motor (0-90vdc .5 amps) the motor already
has a variable speed controller but no way to control it except with a dial. I was goin to use PWM to control the speed of the motor but leave the current drive intact for any fine tuning ( I would take the output from the dc drive and pulse it to the motor using a plc)
Is this an exceptable way to do this ( any alternative is welcome)
and should I use a solid state relay or is there a better way. The company does not want to spend much money on this( real shocker I'm sure). Any and all advice is welcome thanks.

Originally posted by Paulmatrix:

The company does not want to spend much money on this( real shocker I'm sure).

Can you put some type of range on 'much money'. We could be thinking different things by a couple of orders of magnatude.

I wouldn't do what you are proposing. I really doubt you will get the performance you want if you can keep it stable at all.
What plc are you using? Does it have encoder input capability? Does it have analog I/O?

My first thought would be to replace the current drive with one you can supply and analog input to. If that's not possible, if the drive has a pot for speed control you could probably break into that and send in your own isolated anaolg signal. But by the time you get the isolator and toss in your labor you could have a new drive.

Look to KB Electronics for reasonably priced DC drives. If you have a plc that can actually produce a high frequency PWM (3 kHz or greater carrier) then you may be able to use one of the drives from Advanced Motion Control.

Keith

The PLC is a keyence it does support encoder(high speed) input.
and a 20 KHz output. It does not support analog output. But
I think I may be able to get them to spring for an analog card
I like the idea of using the speed pot it is a KBelectronics drive