Shift Register Applications.....

xxx_750

I am an electronic engineering student and would like to know some industrial applications in which shift registers are used. Any info/diagrams or links to other sites would be really helpful.

Hello xxx_750;

The last application I used shift registers was on a conveyor line, to keep track of the relative position of different packages on the line. This is a standard application by the way (look it up in the search feature of the forum, you should get a few hits).
In my particular case, we had 2 sugar bagging lines merging just before the packing machine, and we needed to be sure arriving bags would not fall on top of one another as this would jam the packing machine. We used 2 shift registers to simulate in memory the relative position and speed of the travelling bags on the 2 conveyors; optical sensors detected the bags and synchronized the shift registers. With this information, we were able to detect if there was enough space on the lower belt to recieve the higher belt's bag, and we could modulate a merging conveyor to place the incoming bag between 2 lower belt bags.
Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

bit shift

xxx_750 we use them to sort cants in a sawmill application. The last mill had 20 different sorts say 4" * 4" * 8' then 4" * 4" * 10' and so on. The shift register or bit shift is used to send this information down a 200 foot conveyor and lets them know where the bay is located where they are to be kicked off.
We also use a shift register along with a timer to keep motors from starting at the same time. We have motors from 450 hp to 150 hp that start and stop alot the shift register and timer make the logix simpler than using a bunch of timers because they motors also reverse alot.

:site: