Directlogics/ASCII

wingshooter25

Hello. I am in need of some direction on communicating in ASCII between a Automation Direct DL260 processor and a custom made display/LED Sign. I have no experience with ASCII or setting up communications, but I have done extensive research over the last couple of days and figured most of it out. I have placed the data in consecutive v-memory locations. I'm pretty sure I need to use the printV instruction to send the information to my display. My problem is that I need to separate my double words(v-mem.) with commas before send. I have learned that comma is 2C in hex. Any advice on how to slip these into the string I need to create would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Off the top of my head, I would think you could just enclose a comma character within quotation marks, right between your V-memory data.

Basically this: Vnnnn "," Vnnnn

Although it doesn't specifically answer your question, have a read through THIS thread, as well as the links to the other 2 ASCII dicussions.

Icky might be able to offer some suggestions as well.

🍻

-Eric

Thanks for the vote of confidence Eric. It could be done, but it would take being pretty tricky about it.

Offhand without really making a program and trying it out, it might be something like this brute force method. I haven't had time to put it in a PLC to see if it works exactly right or not, but it should be close. :)

Convert the double word to BCD (if it isn't already). We will assume the BCD double word is in V2000. V2100-V2103 is used as a working set of registers, V2200-V2204 is used as the final set of registers.

LD k4
LDA o2000 Convert BCD to ASCII
HTA V2100

LDD V2100 Move the first four numbers to
OUTD V2200 the final ASCII table

LD V2201 Insert the comma
AND kFF
ADDD k2C00
OUT V2201

LDD V2101 Move the second set of four numbers to
SHFR k8 the final ASCII table
OUT V2102

LD V2203 Insert the comma
AND kFF (probably not needed this time, but oh well)
ADDD k2C00
OUT V2203