Data Logging w/ AB

ijf0

Everyone -

I am still somewhat new to PLCs and their advanced options so I'm hoping you will be able to help me out with a simple project.

Our plant has a ~24-30 hour process which mgt. would like to be able to monitor the process and log the data from the process to be linked to the product's specific batch number.

Currently the process is controlled by a Micrologix 1000 PLC (we know we'll probably have to upgrade since the 1000 is already maxed out for I/Os)

They (mgt) would like to add a touch panel to the controls and have the operators enter the batch #s as they are loaded (only 1 batch at a time). The operator would also have to enter their employee number before the process is allowed to start.

Once the process is running we need to log a specific analog input value in relation to time/date and batch number. As well as any errors/faults that occur during the process

HOW??????? what is the simplest method for this?

Mgt right now is talking about purchasing one of those industrial computers to place in the panel, installing Lookout on it and using lookout to monitor the PLC ... I dont really like this idea -- Seems like a cob job to me.

We need to stick with AB as we are trying to standardize to their products.

Also, mgt would like the ability to easily retrieve data and make printouts of the data possibly in chart form.

Can anyone make recommendations?

My opinion is just have the operators make hand charts -- seems easier at this point. LOL.

Thanks
-IJF

Look at getting RSView Studio ME (Allen-Bradley) and using that as a HMI and a datalogger at the same time. You can hook up a panelview plus or computer to use as the screen. It will do simple data logs, store and graph the trends.

Thanks LJBMatt, is there a good website for an introduction to RSView? I have never used it before and would hesitate to buy it before I knew the basics of it.

-IJF

An inexpensive option