HMI Uploading/Downloading problem

oirene

Hi PLC Wizards!

I am new with PLC. And currently I'm having a problem with uploading/downloding of my HMI program. We are using quickpanel jr. 10.5" and using quickdesigner software version 3.7. And using HMI-CAB-C49/G prorgramming cable. When I am uploading/downloading my HMI program to the quickpanel jr. device, in the message column will tell me " device not ready " and eventually will prompt " device hung ". I tried to shutoff the quickpanel jr. power. The message column will prompt " device off ---> turn on power ". When I turn on the power back, I will be prompted again with " device not ready ". I pretty sure that my programming software and cable is fine since I can do the uploading/downloading with another device.

I hope I am asking the right forum and hoping someone out there can help me with my problem.What could be the possible causes and possible solutions ( if there is any )?

Thanks and best regards!

oirene

I've never seen a quickpanel jr but in my experience with other HMI's I have a couple of suggestions...

Firstly, make sure the HMI is in 'transfer' mode if needed. Again I'll reiterate that I've never seen a quickpanel but some HMI's require you put them in a certain 'mode' before they'll accept an upload.

Secondly, you say your lead is ok cos you have connected to another "device".. is that device the same type of HMI as the one you are having the problem with??

"Device not ready" sounds like it could possibly be .. either a faulty device or an HMi that has no program in it whatsoever.

Could you give us more info.. ie. have you programmed this device before.. was it working with a program in it and now you can't get online.. has the lead been tested with an identical device.. have you uploaded to these devices before (ie. your sure you are following the correct procedure) ??

Oirene,