Will I be able to handle PLC Programming?

JJJENNNNN

Hi,
I graduated from college about a year ago with both my Computer Programmer Analyst diploma and Computer Systems Networking Technican one. Unfortunately, there are not very many jobs for computer programmers in my area. There are however many places looking for PLC programmers. An engineering student friend of mine suggested years back that I should go into this and I am just considering it now. I really would like to enroll this fall in a nightschool PLC program at the college I went to, but am unsure of whether or not I will be good at it. I have never worked with PLCs at all. I took an electronics course in highschool and loved it, but that is about as close as I have to any sort of related knowledge. Will my computer programming background give me any advantage at ALL? Is this a good direction for me to take? I've received mixed input, but none from anyone in the field. Any advice on the matter would help me a great deal in making my decision. Thanks,
--- Jen

The job market must be a lot different in your area. Seems to be a bigger demand for computer jockeys in the Chicago midwest region.

Many companoes are looking for embedded programmers with C, C+, and C++.

In general, with ladder logic, computer programming may be of some bennefit, but a good understanding of electrical operations with blueprint reading is much more useful.

I had over 15 years of drawing relay logic when I started with PLC's. I still contend that there is not much difference between the two.

If you have good analytical skills, understand logic, and understand or can learn electrical theory, then you shouldn't have any problems.

To those who question electrical theory... NOT the flow a protron or electron but switching, and, or nor, nand, etc.

regards all.....casey