S7 300

krism

Hi All,

I am new to Siemens PLC's.Could somebody please advice on which profibus IO units can be used along with S7300 PLC and if then

*)Is it possible to have a redundant HMI using Ifix using the S7300 and the Profibus distributed IO's.

*)How to configure and setup the profibus IO.................

*)Also is it possible to multidrop on profibus network-Siemens display panels and IO's

Kindly advice-Siemens Guru's.............

Hello krism;

Welcome to the forum; I hope we can get you information you can use for your projects.

From the nature of your questions, I believe you need to read up a bit on Profibus-DP networks and configuration. I suggest you look at www.profibus.com (especially the Technology and products tabs); you can also download the profn2_e.pdf file from Siemens' support website: it discusses topology and material elements for the bus.
http://support.automation.siemens.com/WW/llisapi.dll?func=cslib.csinfo&changelang=true&aktprim=0&siteid=cseus&lang=en

These are the 2 best introductions I know on Profibus-DP.

Now:
1) basically, you should be able to use any Profibus-DP slave with any Profibus-DP master. As long as you have the gsd file (configuration datasheet) for the slave, you can make it available to the master and configure it as part of the network. Look it up in the links proposed above.
2) redundant HMI? that depends on the software used. Look it up in iFix help files; if it can handle redundant comm links, you will requiere 2 seperate Profibus-DP communication cards in the PC (such as Siemens' CP5611, or Softing processors... Look at the Products tab in profibus.com) and the appropriate software drivers.