Motor control center using devicenet

2004sk4

We have 15 5 hp blower motors running air tables. Today I noticed production people still starting as many blowers at once as their hands got fingers. I have told them many time the inrush this is causing but they just don;t understand. I was wondering if anyone has used allen bradley powerflew series drives on devicenet controlled by a micrologix 1200 fprocessor.
I want the production people to have one start button. The processor will time everything out and stage them so that no 2 drive are starting at the same time. The setup now is starters which is hard on all the belts.pulley,motor and the blower itself. I would like to use drives and set the acceraction time to say 5-20 sec to gradually get the blower up to speed.

What all will i need to make this project come together. I am completely new to devicenet but i like the concept of hooking up the line and motor phases,device net cable and an external etop.

with device net can i transmit my desired speed. The management would like to see the blower motors slowed down during break time to conserve energy. they have a 15% goal on the electric bill.

thanks ahead of time.
I find this site to be extremely useful and visit everyday. To someone learning this site is unreplacable

First, using inverters on the motors will get you reasonably fast acceleration times without any inrush current at all so you could conceivably put one large drive on all of the motors and start them together---still no inrush!.

If you want to drive each motor separately, that's ok too and, with many drives today, you can daisy-chain the drives to start sequentially so you could use a single start button to get all of the fans to run up to speed one-at-a-time.

I don't see any need to use external processors or devicenet on the system you described.

Hey ya,