Micrologix 1200 analog I/O

PLCgirl

I'm a student doing an independent project on the Micrologix 1200 additional module that has analog I/O. I'm having trouble finding resources on how to configure it, and the difference in programming. In the end, I have to voltage reading IR sensors that I want to use a compare functions with. Can I do this? Are there any good resources or sample programming out there?

4-20 scaled for PID

Its not in any book I have, but , be aware that the
'Scaled for PIC' option for the analog input of a
1200 micro logic yields a raw data of from 3560 to 15522
(or something close to this)

I think the 1200, like the 1500, has a SCP function available. That lets you enter min and max raw data and min and max engineering units, and output the measured value in engineering units as an integer. If you go into the RSLogix I/O configuration you can tell the program you have an analog card, and it should tell you the raw data range it will provide. I haven't used the 1200, but this should help you get started. Try the RSLogix on-line help and search for SCP and for I/O configuration.

yup

The SCL and SCP instructions ARE available in the 1200, according
to Rockwell Publication 1762-RM001C-EN-P "Instruction
Set Reference".

In general answer to the original query, the procedure for
solving this problem is:

1.) Convert analog input raw data to an integer value, representative
of engineering units.

2.) Confirm, via use of OVERRANGE and UNDERRANGE bits that the
analog input is valid for use.

3.) Compare the confirmed converted analog input value to some
constant or entered value, using the GRT/NEQ type instructions.