Maintenance Personal Required

Happeeman

Ok I've been given the task to create inventory control, pm, and all the other fun stuff that goes with running a maintenance team. Just so you know I am an electrician with more than average skills and exposure to the automated world of plcs; not to sound ego bearing on any of you. I was wondering about CMMS (computer maintenance management software). This is what I wanna do: Place hour counter logic on most of our machines as part of our PM schedule which will generate work orders, warings etc. I understand that I'll have to interface the logic to a DDE or like server to extract the processor info and then generate notification via VB app or what ever. This plant I just started working for has no inventory control or work scheduling in place so I get to mold this from scratch. What I really need to know is what the best CMMS system available is and also would like to know from experienced MP2 users what they think. I know this topic is redundant but I was unable to delde/ edit my previous post.

Any help or comments welcomed,

Happee

We have been using MP2 here for about 4 years. It has been working quite well, but our worst problem is getting complete data. If no one checks out items on the computer, it does not know to tell you to reorder. We finally gave up and now we outsource our parts inventory.

Good luck, I havent seen a system that really does it all, or at least without dropping the life expectancy of most of your maint. dept. I have found that good organization, scheduling & Excel are all you need, but it takes a real commitment by those involved to make it work. I know this hasnt answered your question, but this is the voice of experience talking. If you do solicit some system from a vendor, avoid Prime Systems like the plague.

I've had several customers who've standardized on Maximo.

From what little I know, almost any CMMS package will set you back $125K to $250K. (And you thought RSLogix was expensive!).