RsLinks ethernet driver problem - Micrologix 1100

mellow81

Hi all,
I am new to Ethernet comms (and probably missing something simple) and am experiencing a problem with the Ethernet ip driver in Rslinks in that it will pick up a panelview but not a micrologix 1100 PLC that I have connected through a rail switch. I have setup the ML1100 via channel 0 turning off bootp and dhcp and manually gave it an ip address but rslinks can’t see it for some reason. I have tried this on a different PC running same version and OP system (2000 and Rslink ver 2.5.020) but get the same result. I tried pinging the plc and recieved a timeout but was able to get the panelview to reply. The network indicator lights are both on and I have replaced cabling etc to no avail. I have also changed the cip settings in RSlinks as recommened on the AB knowledge base. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi

When you go to set Channel Configuration do not check BOOTP Enable

and DHCP Enale.

Then write the IP manually.

It's work

Last edited:
How are you connecting to the ML1100? Are you using an ethernet cable directly from your computer to the ML1100 or are you connecting to a hub or switch first.

If you are connecting directly, a standard ethernet cable (generally referred to as a patch cable) will not work. You must use a crossover style ethernet cable. Or preferreably connect your computer to a switch via a patch cable and then connect the ML1100 to a different port on the same switch again via a patch cable.

If you can't ping it then RSLinx won't work either. Forget about RSLinx until you get ping to work.

OG

Just to be sure how about the basics.
Is the IP address alone, not used by anything else?
Is the subnet mask correct? This is the 255.255.0.0 looking number. This splits up the network and any part of the IP address that lines up with the 255 parts must be the same.
Is your machine and the PLC on the same subnet, do they have the same left part of the IP address.