What "Project Manage" Meant

I've moved up the food chain! I am no longer a lowly controls technician, I am now a semi-lowly controls engineer! I am salaried, a tad richer, a modicum more respectable (who, me?) and a whole lot more burdened :)

(It's funny, I ought to be nervous, but I'm just too excited about it to succumb to fear).

A brief aside - this group here has been instrumental in just about every single success I've experienced, and I want to say, from the bottom of my heart, thank you all, and thank you Phil for having us.

Now, they say that the job of a governer is to become a senator, and the job of a senator is to become President, so I'm already thinking 3 or 4 years down the road, when the Tech Manager position starts looking like a nice fit.

(Huh, last week my loftiest goal was talking Unitronics into supporting Profibus...)

But to acheive that goal, the first thing I have to do is prove I can manage my own projects effectively and efficiently. Up till now, 90% of my work was for other people, but now I have jobs of my own to do - on TOP of all my work for other people.

So I'm looking for information on project management techniques. I read this spiffy article at Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Project_management

And had no idea it was this involved. I've checked out some software - I've been using Freemind to track index my project files and notes for a while now, and it works really well.

I have a few questions:

1. What techniques and tools do you use to manage your automation projects? Gantt charts? Mind Maps? Post-it notes?

2. What variables do you find important to track, and how granular do you get? For instance, when tracking time, do you keep a general count of hours, divide your hours by task, or do you carry a stop watch around?

I'm sure I'll think of more later :)

Thanks!

TM

Congratulations on your promotion!