Linking PLC&ATM. Wireless?

XDB

Hi everyone,
For predictive maintenance system i need to install a PLC (siemens s7? and profibus?)with A/D modules, discretes, etc... into a ship.
This is a very big ship and i need to create a star network architecture between many PLC´s at may locations and a master PC for data processing.
The problem... what kind of network?

The choices :

There is a ATM network for other purposes that may can be used, any experience linking profibus&ATM?

Any experience with Wireless into Faraday cells?¿ :(

Unfortunately cabling is not a choice.

Unfortunately cabling is not a choice.
That sounds like an impossible restriction.

Can you provide any details about the ATM network. I dont suppose it is used with Automated Teller Machines. If it is maybe an ethernet backbone, then there should be no problems with using ethernet with you S7 PLC's.

Wireless is also possible, but I have no experience with ships. I guess you could add as many access points as necessary, but it would be much more expensive than just laying a few more ethernet cables.

Aha.

Again, not knowing much about it, does it support TCP/IP in some sort ?
From the looks of it, it does not, but maybe I am wrong.

Anyway. I am sure there are lots of cables allready. I can see that it will not be easy, but if they want it they have to take the necessary steps.

About the length of cables:
If I would have to do the job, I would consider an industrial grade fiber ethernet ring for the backbone, and then split out from strategically placed swithces to all the PLCs.

Hello XDB;

If wireless is your option, have a look at Data-Linc spread-spectrum, frequency hopping Ethernet RF modems:
http://www.data-linc.com/products.htm

On the Partners page, you will find a link to Siemens interfacing, in different applications. They also show Rockwell and others.