panelview plus and micrologix 1000

dradef

Hello, this is my first post on the board, I am pretty new to programming and this site has been a huge help so far.

My main question is: Can I passthrough a PVPlus 600 (2711p-b6c20a and also 2711p-tc20a) ethernet port to the built in serial port so I can transfer programs to/from the Micrologix 1000 (I already have 12 various models, so please don't say just get the ML 1100 :) )? The PV+600 and ML1000 will also be together during runtime.

I have cable Cat# 2711-NC22 for between PanelView and Micrologix, which is called an "operating cable", I'm wondering if it will work for this.

My reason for wanting to do this is my new laptop doesn't have any serial ports and I have read the USB-serial adaptors can be fickle with AB, the ethernet built into the PV would seem to me the easiest way to accomplish this without going with a 1761-net-eni.

Please let me know if you need more information. I need to get this figured out before I start to get pushed on these projects.

I am very sorry if this exact thing has been discussed before, I have spent hours searching the forum and found very little.

Thanks! Greg

Probably not. The RS232 port on a PanelView is for comm to the PLC for the HMI, not for network connection generally. At least, that's my understanding of it- if there is a way to do this, I'm all ears too.

Talking to a Micro with the USB/RS-232 adapter will almost certainly work. RS-232 ("DF-1") in AB-speak is just a null modem cable. There is nothing esoteric about serial comm to a Micro or SLC. I have a Belkin cheap adapter, and it talks to my Micros and SLCs just fine. It won't talk to a DNet adapter, but that's the only problem I've ever had with it.

It's a very good question, Greg, but the answer is no.