Custom PLC

Daniels_here

hey,
I am interested in building a custom PLC for a project i have. i have very little knowledge in PLC so i need some help, what i want to know is if i get a simple Atmel ATMEGA128, than setup the communication on RS232.

how hard is it to convert the digital signal into orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, than place it on a 24V line and convert it back at the other end, or is there a simpler method that is cheap?
cya
daniel

Sorry to sound negative, but how do you know you need a custom plc if, as you say, you have very little knowledge of plc ?

What is "orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing" ????
If you put it in laymans terms, then maybe we can have a guess at if it is possible or not.

It sounds more like an "embedded controller" than a PLC to me.
There are forums for embedded controllers that can help you if this is the way for you.

If it absolutely must be a "PLC" then 3S (CoDeSys) makes a PLC runtime that will run on very modest hardware, an 8051 for example. Dont know what processor family that Atmel belongs to.

JesperMP said:
What is "orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing" ????
Google yields this
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OFDM
I hope this explains everything and makes it clear. ;)

If you put it in laymans terms, then maybe we can have a guess at if it is possible or not.
I don't think it can be expressed in layman terms.

It sounds more like an "embedded controller" than a PLC to me.
There are forums for embedded controllers that can help you if this is the way for you.
I think a DSP is required. Certainly not a PLC.

If it absolutely must be a "PLC" then 3S (CoDeSys) makes a PLC runtime that will run on very modest hardware, an 8051 for example. Dont know what processor family that Atmel belongs to.
The Atmel group. :) Actually Atmel does support the 8051 but the ATMEGA 128 is specific to Atmel.