ethical question

CJones

Well,

I'm very new to programing and am working on SLC 500's I've created a simple parts counting program that compares the number of flights on the conveyor to the number of parts going down the line

Every min. with a timer I write them to an interger then divide them to show line efficientcy.

Alls good so far, but I'm having a problem with double counting parts, Mostly due to extra material going down the conveyor.

A sensor change is possible and some more adjustment (some)can be done.

The qusetion is: Do I do some programing to filter out some of the extra counts and call it good, or continue to impale myself on the project? (this is in house and not a project for sale)

The good news is, that I am sampling every min. with excel and doing the final averages there, so on an 8 hour day at 480 samples the extra counts are'nt making a huge diffrence in the end result, except that it looks odd to make an extra part thats not there.

The results are for efficiency monitoring and not an inventory madder

Thanks Clint

I'm not one hundred percent sure I understand your post, but this might be the issue:
Every min. with a timer I write them to an interger then divide them to show line efficientcy.

When doing integer division in a SLC500 the result is rounded, not truncated. Thus 3.5 becomes 4.

If I completely misunderstood you then perhaps you can post your program and I'm sure that the board can help identify the problem.

CJones said:
I'm having a problem with double counting parts,

What are you using to sense the parts? If it's a photo eye is it possible you are getting more than one turn on per unit of product. Like you want to count a hand but the photo eye sees the fingers. Again if it's a photo eye can people walk infront of the eye?

Here is an interesting oddity you are getting 480 extra counts in an eight hour day and you are comparing every minute. How many minutes is that? Hmmmm!