RSViewSE - Tag value transfer

Jim-F

I've worked with RSView quite a bit in the past, but I think I've reached the peak of my limited level of kowledge. I've only had one class on RSView, and the rest has been self taught, so bear with me.
:confused:

I'm trying to collect some billing data from an electrical substation and perform some calculations on it within one of our PLC's. Sounds simple enough, but...

The KW value is coming into RSView through a software program called SubStation.Net. This uses it's own built-in server to gather the data. RSView running on our server has HMI tags that point to tags in the SubStaion program.

I need to use two of these values in our PLC, but I can't figure out how to get the PLC to read the RSView HMI tag.

What I did find, was a command (Set) to write the value of one tag to another tag. According to RSView the following syntax should complete the operation, but it hasn't worked yet:

[&]Set[/V]<tag><value\tag>

This is what the code looks like. I've also attached the Notepad document, since it might be easier to read without being cut apart by the message board.

First Attempt: (Local PLC direct from SubStation.Net tag)

[&]Set[/V]</Boilers/RSLinx::[BOPS]A450_SEL_S7701><value\/Boilers/SubSTATION::\\SS.NET\MP\SELFM\COM5\SEL 2030\Data\311L-S7701-11>

Second Attempt: (Local PLC from RSView HMI tag)

[&]Set[/V]</Boilers/RSLinx::[BOPS]A450_SEL_S7701><value\ASCO\SEL\311L-S7701-11>

Error msg:
Command or Macro [&]Set[/V]</Boilers/RSLinx::[BOPS]A450_SEL_N7601><value\ASCO\SEL\311L-N7601-11> is unknown.

One thing I noticed is that RSView will only let you use the underscore, but the substation program tags have hyphens in them. I was wondering if this would matter, but there are already HMI tags using the data and working fine. I just can't get the value to write to the PLC tag.

I know it's something simple that I'm missing. Please help me get a clue o_O

Last edited: