What is your mistakes in LD programming?

minhyuk

hi all!
I am a Student in Korea! I am a researcher about Programming Lanaguages! I need your help!!!

my question is "what kind of bugs or problems can make hard to find? in Ladder Diagram" and "is there bugs that frequently found?"

"is there any Software for Finding bugs?"
"if you have that SW what kind of SW do you use?"

tell me your episode about your mistake of programming by Ladder Diagram!!

I will provide very nice tools!! as soon as possible!!
please help me!!

let's make great tool together!!

The mistake most commonly encountered by me is a simple typing error inducing double coil syndrome.

The hardware/software used to find and correct that mistake is made by mother nature and is called a brain. And of course the software for the PLC in question is also used in conjunction.

Regards,

Hi jvdcande! (i don't know how can I address your name sorry :)
What is the double coil syndrome?
I am a stranger here!

Regards,
--------------------------------------------
Minhyuk, Kwon
Programming Language Laboratory
Korea Technology and Education University

Common mistakes usually come down to typos as suggested, causing:

XIO instead of XIC and vice versa

Duplicate memory address used (One shots, Timers)

Copy/Paste errors - A big one when you have duplicate code for similar sections and you have to change the addresses for each section. Some PLCs have good find/replace routines, some don't.

I agree with Robetmee, the majority of bugs I find are simply due too typo's, the ladder is OK, but the tags have been mixed up. But of course you get the occasional "D'oh, I'm an idiot" type of bugs.

Bugs that occur due to the PLC scan are always hard to find as the ladder looks ok and the tags are correct, that’s when you've got to understand the PLC scan, and understand what the logic is trying to do. That bit me when a program was using math calculations across multiple subroutines....