iconics and kepware help

timmyh

I currently have the demo versions of iconics and kepware. My trouble is if I create an array in cotrollogix I can get the elements into kepware and dataworx, but when I try to chage the value in graphworx it does not write to the plc. In dataworx I access the array element by

tag:KEPware.KEPServerEx.V4\Channel1.Device1.setpt[3]

Is this the wrong way? I am pretty new at this so any help would be much appreciated
thanks
timmy h

Timmy, the syntax looks right. Is Kepware and the Iconics tag both set to read/write? Did you use the tag browser to link the tag, or did you type in the path? If you used the browser, I would suspect the problem is in your Kepware setup. Open the Kepware quick client and look at the data. If you see errors and not data your problem is in the Kepware setup.

Good luck.

The kepware quick client has good values in it. The only way I can get the iconics to write to the plc is by not having an array. I use the UDB to get to the tag and then use eps editor to make sure I have the right syntax. It is probably something stupid I am looking over. In Kepware I define the tag as follows

"tag_address"{5}

If I have a download value pick action and have value on up = 1, it will change in dataworx but not in kepware. I can also go toggle the bit in the plc and the value in dataworx will follow the program. I thought I had it working before, is there some sort of setting I could have accidently changed?

thanks

I don't know if the array syntax is plc dependent. I have several in control logix. The syntax for the CLX address is:

Controller Scope
"TAGNAME[COLUMN,ELEMENT]"

Program Scope
"PROGRAM:pROGRAM_NAME.TAGNAME[COLUMN,ELEMENT]"

If you set up a tag in Kepware, the tagname can be unique without including the [], but the plc address must be exact.

If your not using a CLX I'm not sure any of this helps.

Charlie