PLC cabinet design

yfcarer

Hi guys.

I need design a PLC cabinet which will be used in USA. While I only have some experience of designing the cabinet used in China since I am a Chinese engineer. Is there any difference that I need to pay attention? Or is there certain US national code/guidelines which I can follow?

Any suggestions are welcome and thank you in advance.

I'd start with the National electrical code I know there are others but I'm not familiar with all the regulations in the states

Also NFPA 79.

We purchased a machine from China a couple of years ago. I am sure that it was not representative of all machines from China, there are some which meet standards, but in this case there was multiple issues with the electrical construction of the control cabinet. Shortly afterwards we removed the control cabinet and replaced it with one we had built.

Based on our experience with this one, some of the issues were undersized wiring, low quality terminals, poor documenation - I'm not refering to poor translation, we have Chinese employees so translation errors were solvable, but essential things missing from the prints, lack of wire numbering, components were jammed into a panel that was too small, and the panel itself was flimsy. The machine was shipped with a large tranformer that was un-enclosed with exposed high voltage terminals, that was the first change we had to make before we could even apply power. Over time we discovered that there were sevral wire terminations where two wires had just been twisted together, taped, and stuffed into the wireway - that won't be acceptable.

If you use good construction practices you can avoid many of the issues we had.

One thing to be aware of is that many IEC circuit breakers are only rated as supplemental protection in the US. Circuit breakers providing primary branch circuit protection must be UL489 approved.