ControlLogix 5000 Maintenance

Viks

Hi guys,
I'm still new to this forum and also new to the PLC world but learning my way forward as this is the only way be become a profesional in the automated world. I work as an Electrician for a company which manufactures various paper products and we have a ControlLogix 5555 controller which automates most of our operations on our plant. We are having a two day shutdown and i was just wondering what are the important checks that needs to be carried out on the PLC during maintenance.As I've mentioned we deal with tissue o the environment is really dusty sometimes.I would appreciate all the help I can get.Thanks in advance.........

Cheers,

Viks........

welcome to the forum.

if the inside of the panel is full of dust, remove the cards and check to make sure they are free form dust, if not blow them with dry compressed air, this will help with heat dissipation.

check connections on any I/O cards for loose cables

that is all i can really think of just now.

cheers

myles

We have found that some terminations have worked loose over time.
As recommended by our reliability group, we take opportunities (such as outages) to go through and make sure that wires are properly secured in terminal blocks.

As for what else we do ...
Clean out the cabinets
Change air filters
Change PLC battery (if lifecycle has determined as necessary)

If you have time, you could even put a scope on your power supplies as predictive maintenance to assess if the power supply is creating noise.

The 5555 family of PLCs has a notoriously low battery life. Make sure you upload from the PLC a current copy of the PLC program and change the battery. Make sure you order a new battery in advance.

Thanks alot Guys,I have some new stuff today.I already have a backup of the current program and I'll carry out the other checks as i get back to work tomorrow again.Thanks again to all of you friends!!

Cheers,

Viks

Viks said: