PLC Communication to Computer

Hi all...I am currently a student working on a technical thesis project. Our group is attempting to set-up our Allen-Bradley RS5000 PLC to be capable of communication with our computer through an ethernet connection.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

What PLC are you connecting to?
Do you have RSLogix 5000 programming software? What Version?
Do you have RSLinx? What version?
Is this a brand new processor, or is it already setup?

Allen-Bradley Compact logix L32E
RS5000 v 2.52
RSLinx Gateway
No the processor is not set up. Software is installed, however we can not seem to get it to communicate with the PLC.

Thank you for attempting to help and any information that you need please feel free to ask.

Did you configure an "Ethernet devices" or "Ethernet/IP Driver" driver yet in RSLinx? If so, does the L32E show up in the RSWho window?

I believe the version of Linx is 2.52, Logix5000 would have a version like 15.xx or 16.xx

I would assign an IP address first thing because it comes by default as 0.0.0.0. Plug in your ethernet cable (with a switch in between) and open the bootP utility. Sometimes it's quickest to cycle power after you plug in so that you receive bootP requests. Assign the IP address (make it similar to the one on you computer. If you don't know much about IP addresses, we may need a longer discussion on that topic.

Once the address is assigned, you need to load the firmware. You use control flash for this. This can be done via the serial port, but it's wicked slow. Ethernet is preferred. DO NOT POWER DOWN UNTIL THE FIRMWARWE IS COMPLETE. You will make youself a $2500 coaster if you do.