How to size a fuse. Should I fuse an Output?

Hi. Can someone please help me? My background is computer programming and not PLC's. I was forced into this job at my work because of the slowdown in the economy so I had to take it or I would be jobless. I am really starting to enjoy it and it is very challenging. So forgive me if I sound like I am just looking for quick answers because I spend hours many hours to try things before I post here.

My question is on how to Size a Fuse properly. I have a 5 Amp DC power supply powering a SLC 500 PLC, 1 (16)Input card with 16 Proxies, 1 (8)Output card powering 6 Valves, 2 lights. There is also Jokab safety relay being powered.

Do I look at the amount of current each device draws and just add them up? What about the proxies. Do I add them up too? What about the Solenoids. There will only be one on at a time for each cylinder is either extended or retracted. So just add the one of them or both. Should I fuse each output to the Solenoid? Am I supposed to fuse the proxies? Really appreciate your response... Thank you. Tom

All of your answers are valid. My personal opinion is a 5 amp fuse off the power supply and I fuse for each I/O card.
By going that way you can isolate a shorted component to 1 area. I have seen panels with a fuse for every output and I must say its overkill! I've only seen it in American panels.

I would fuse a 5A power supply with a 5A fuse on the 24V.
I'd use a separate fuse for your PLC, safety relay, inputs (1 fuse for all 16) and every output individually. I typically size fuses at 125% rated current, rounded to the next standard size. I also usually use time delay fuses.

You would add up all of your current draws when you size the power supply. Here is where you could only count 1 solenoid per cylinder.