A B ML1500 PLC comms fault

wie

The Micrologix1500 PLC lost comms when trying to function valves from the HMI. Cycled power to the PLC, and restarted the HMI, and comms came back.

Anyone know of any known issues with the PLC dropping out unexpectedly?

The PLC is about 5 yrs old now, so I was thinking that maybe there's probs with the battery, or some sort of power supply probs...
The values being read on the HMI are passed through the DeviceNet Scanner, could there be a prob with the W/1769-SDN?
Checked cables, these were OK.

I'm new to AB's so I'm not sure where to begin diagnosing. Can RSLinx be used to help diagnose comm faults?

Cheers.

Last edited:
What's the part number of the PLC? Is it perhaps a DC model, with the valves also being DC - powered off of the same power supply? Are the DC valves(?) power off the same power supply as the DN?

What kind of HMI device is it ?

Did the controller actually fault, or did something go wrong on the DeviceNet ? Examine the LEDs on the controller itself as well as the 2-digit display on the 1769-SDN.

My first guess is that the valve action disrupted the DeviceNet.

With DeviceNet, the first three troubleshooting steps are straightforward:

1. Check the 24VDC power at the power supply and at the furthest away node. You need less than 5v drop, and the power supply must be dedicated to the DeviceNet network only.

2. Remove the 24VDC power and measure resistance between the blue and white wires. You should have about 60 ohms if the two termination resistors are properly installed.

3. When the problem occurs, take a look at the LEDs on the DeviceNet scanner and write down the values (even if it's cycling through several). These provide crucial troubleshooting information.

HMI is Wonderware Intouch v8.02.

The DeviceNet scanner 1769-SDN and ML1500 (1764-28BXB with LRP processor) is powered from Craftec
LEP240F-24 power supply which is connected to 230VAC (UPS).