Help learning to write scripts

PLCRookie

Greetings to all.
I just recently finished a project that involved visual inspection of o-rings presence and location on a revolving part, and I needed to use a few scripts to write some values to a Banner camera from a Proface HMI. I managed to get it done with a little head scratching, but it just got me realize that I am woefully lacking in the script writing area.
Just wondering if any of you gurus out there could recommend some good books on the subject. Its not really a pressing issue for me, but I am always looking for good reading, and I actually prefer to read technical manuals and such (I guess that makes me a real geek). I am mostly self taught on ladder, but I would really like to gain some knowledge on other languages.

Any comments greatly appreciated.
🍻

Most all 'scripting' tends to follow roughly the same principles and usually fall somewhere between plain old sequential logic to object oriented models based on events, methods and properties. Most times, it's somewhere in between. The main difference between scripting from one platform to another is mostly syntax and structure. Once you learn the idiosyncrocies of the 'language' you can usually muddle through.

I might suggest you pick up a good book on Visual Basic programming. Alot of platforms use VB or VBA (Visual Basic for Applications, a subset). It's a relatively easy language to learn (easier than jumping into C++), is object oriented (although some will argue not a true Object language) and is used in enough places that it will give you some real practical experience.

Kind of off topic. Have you used the Banner driver for the ProFace? The last several job I have used I added the driver and I cleaned up a lot of the ModBus TCP addressing. What kind of scripts are you using?
I like using the logic in my screen because the the camera has a limited processor.