Logic in PLC or HMI app?

If a programmer is going to be the only person to view the code then why not. The way HMI's are going you usually to do a bit of script.
Problem is if you plan to let maintenance troubleshoot, they are not going to be able to.

I'm no expert programmer (INEP?)...

I would use some "logic" in the answer.
If the script affects the HMI only (ie scaling etc) then use it in the HMI. If it affects anything in the PLC then do it in the PLC if possible; if you cannot do the script on the PLC, then I would comment in the PLC very well in the logic that it relates to.

My answer to that is a resounding NO.
One of my design goals on anything with an HMI, is that unplugging, shutting off, rebooting, or replacing an HMI should have zero effect on the operation of the controlled equipment.
Auxiliary functions, such as data-logging, and report generation may be disabled while the HMI is being replaced/repaired, but the machine operation should not be affected.
For the same reason, I insist on always having hard-wired start/stop/jog buttons, even if that functionality is duplicated on an HMI.

If I have only one HMI, and it's used to set the line speed, I will have an auxiliary speed pot that can override it (I use a 'Last Change' routine in the PLC to determine what speed reference source controls a machine. In one case, I had something like 16 speed pots, any of which could control machine speed).

Troubleshooting is also much easier if you only have one 'Control Source' to deal with.

One of my design goals on anything with an HMI, is that unplugging, shutting off, rebooting, or replacing an HMI should have zero effect on the operation of the controlled equipment.
Auxiliary functions, such as data-logging, and report generation may be disabled while the HMI is being replaced/repaired, but the machine operation should not be affected.