Slc 5/04 and Model 22 barcode reader

wilheldp

I am a newbie at programming PLCs and I have just been given my first assignment. I have to obtain a barcode from an Accusort Model 22 scanner, and assign a destination based on that code. I think I can handle everything after I get the barcode into memory, but I don't know how to accomplish that. How does the info come into the PLC from the scanner (plugged directly into Channel 0)? Does anybody have some sample code that I could look at?

Thanks in Advance,
Dan

I don't know anything about "model 22" but any barcode
scanner with ASCII output is usually very simple to use.
Check "ASCII instuctions" in the RSLogix500 tool pallet.
You will need "ascii read" and "ascii clear buffer"
(i think mnemonics are ARD and ACL but check it out to be sure).
Before you get all excited (and frustrated), I would
strongly (!) suggest to first use Hyperterminal (comes with
every Windows) to verify that scanner and cable are ok.
And more than that - to verify port settings...
It is much simpler to play with port settings on PC than
on PLC (it should take you few minutes to test everything).
Once you have that worked out, It should be no problem
to connect scanner to RS232 port of your PLC.
At least you will know what kind of message to expect.

Will the PLC pull in the extraneous bits (i.e. the start bit, trigger ID, quality bits, etc.) or will it just recieve the barcode itself? Does the PLC have any intelligence about what information it is recieving, or does it just pull in the ASCII characters and place them where you tell it to?

Thanks,
Dan

This was actually one of my first assignments at my co-op, and I second the idea of using hyperterminal. It is very useful in making sure you have the correct speed/parity/etc settings. I was interfacing with a controlLogix05, but once properly configured, it read the numbers from the bar code directly into memory and knew how to interpret the extraneous signals from the scanner. Good luck.