Slc 5-05 controller

anup

Hi
I am new to PLC, can anyone help me out in this.
I have a SLC 5-05 CONTROLLER and a software in PC which communicates with the SLC 505 through ethernet. I need to know what are the input and outputs from the software application which is being passed to/from the SLC 505.

Kindly suggest how to know the above so that i can write a new application which will intertact with the SLC 505.

Thanks in advance
anup

You will ned the original commented source PLC program to do that.
If the PLC isnt password protected, you can do an upload with RSLogix 500. However, without symbols or comments, dissecting what goes on in the program will be a big job, for a large program even a monumental job.

Thanks Jesper, could you please guide me on what are the program( .extension) i might need to upload from SLC 5-05 to better understand the PLC program

SLC-5/05 application programs are stored with an extension *.RSS.

These files can only be opened and edited with RSLogix 500 software.

Can you describe the PC software that interacts with the SLC-5/05 ? A brand name or product name would be helpful. There are dozens of different HMI software packages, and thousands of custom PC-based applications that communicate with SLC-500 family controllers.

Are you planning to create or modify the current "PC software" or are you going to write your own application from scratch ?

If you plan to write your own application, I think it is appropriate to quote here the poetry of American statesman Donald Rumsfeld:

The Unknown
by Donald Rumsfeld

As we know,
There are known knowns.
There are things we know we know.
We also know
There are known unknowns.
That is to say
We know there are some things
We do not know.
But there are also unknown unknowns,
The ones we don't know
We don't know