SLC 500 L20 Fixed Controller

gusterminator

I would like to hook my SLC 500 to my Comunication server or hook it directly to my hub RJ45. Does any body know what product I should buy to make this the easiest?

I'm a newbie

Thanks.

Wait ! STOP !

The "fixed SLC-500" controllers, as well as the SLC-5/01, 5/02, and 5/03 controllers have an RJ-45 type connector that looks similar to the very common Ethernet connectors.

They are NOT Ethernet, and have +24V DC on one pin. They will destroy an Ethernet port if you connect them !

The RJ45 port on the SLC500 is not an ethernet port. It is a DH485 port. You can damage equipment if you connect the SLC500's RJ45 to an ethernet RJ45 port.

There are ways to connect the old SLC500 to a PC. But honestly, it is totally obsolete. Not sure if it is worth the effort.

Now that I've got that warning out of the way, we can talk about what you need to accomplish.

That old Data Highway 485 network protocol that Allen-Bradley uses on the old SLC-500 controllers is notoriously difficult to connect to modern packet-switched networks because it uses a (for the era) fast token-passing protocol. You can't use any ordinary serial/Ethernet converter.

There are a handful of standalone gateway modules (DataLink/EquusTek) and modules for ControlLogix platforms, or software interfaces to computers that have serial ports which can support that old protocol (many cannot), and there's Allen-Bradley's USB/DH485 interface.

What is the reason for connecting this controller to an Ethernet network ? Do you want to be able to go online and monitor it with RSLogix 500, or pull data from it into a supervisory software system, or send messages to it from another controller ?

The features you want to use will help determine which hardware and software to use.