PLC Newbie

Greetings everyone. I just purchased a Panasonic PLC with the com-5 (Ethernet) card and I'm using the FPWIN Pro software. Though I have 16+ years of programming (coding) experience I have never worked with a PLC and I'm a bit lost.

Does anyone know where I can find training books and or examples for structured text using FPWIN Pro?

Thanks in Advance,
Scott

Well I've been a software engineer for many years. This past year I got into the LED market so I'm integrating machinery to LED signs with my software. Now my clients are looking to do more so I'm trying to get into the PLC market so I can now add to my business. When I said newbie to PLC's, I meant "newbie" for sure. hahahah

Thanks again, I'll check out your link.

Looks like I will have to hire someone to write and example structured text for me to get me started. I'm able to connect to my PLC and upload programs to it but I don't know where to start to write the program. Here is what we are doing:

1. We have bottle extruders equipped with a sensor.
2. Each sensor triggers when the machine closes (approx 5 seconds).
3. When the sensor opens I need to count in miliseconds to the next time the sensor closes. Then I need to store this value along with date and time for each extruder in the plant.

IF possible I would like to send this information via an HTTP post to a web service every minute (or two). First thing, i have to figure out how to monitor each port (sensor) and capture the time.

Sounds like quite a project.

Unfortunately, I haven't seen too much here about Panasonic PLCs. Mostly Allen-Bradley, Siemens, and a little WAGO/GE stuff.

Give it awhile and I am sure someone more knowledgable will chime in.

If you truly want to learn Ladder Logic, the language for most PLCs, then here is a great book:
http://claymore.engineer.gvsu.edu/~jackh/books/plcs/pdf/plcbook5_1.pdf

It is free and I have learned a lot from it!