WonderWare to PLC5

Ker25

Hello Forum!! I am new to controls engineering so I often stop at this forum to learn from the wise ones. I am always impressed by the vast knowledge here. Anyway, I am trying to get WonderWare v7.11 to communicate to a PLC 5/40e through DH+. I get a solid green light on the PLC indicating that DH+ connection between the DataLink Card and PLC is ok. However, I am having problems getting Wonderware I/O server to recognize the DataLink(DL-PCI) card I am using. Currently, I am using SST5136-SD IO Server. I often get an error saying, “The server cannot communicate with the adapter card. Check (1) Memory base addreess...” when I try configuring the adapter card settings in SST5136-SD I/O server. Any help would be greatly appreciated…

I believe i might be using the wrong server. I am using a Datalink adapter(DL-PCI) and not SST. I will try another IO server and see if it works. I am curious if anyone has used this card before to talk to WonderWare.

Data-Link builds knockoff A-B network products, but I haven't heard about their PCI card before.

Their website says "alternative to 1784-PKTX and 5136-SD " but it doesn't say a thing about compatibility. I am distressed to see no user manual or support FAQ on their website for this card.

Did the DL-PCI come with a user manual ?

Have you tried Wonderware's 1784-PKTX driver ? Have you tried RSLinx Lite ?

Last edited:
It's a KF2 in PKTX clothing !

I think I figured this out !

Forget what you read on the website: The DL-PCI is nothing like the 1784-PKTX or 5136-SD except that it is a PCI card that interfaces with DH+. It operates totally differently.

What it is similar to is the 1770-KF2. It's a DF1 to DH+ converter.

What's different about it is that instead of connecting to your PC via an RS-232 serial port or a USB port, it uses a "16550 UART Emulator" to become a COM port on your computer !