Controller/program scope RsLogix 5000

Adam303

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi guys, as I'm new to the Logix 5000 world I have a question about controller and program scoped tags. I understand that a scope of a tag must be declared when a tag is created. I understand that a scope defines where a tag can be accessed, but how do I know if I want the Tag to be controller or program scoped?
For example if I wanted to used the same tag in another program than the tag would be controller scoped? and if I want to use a tag in a routine would the tag be program scoped?

Thanks

Last edited:
How you know a tag is controller or program scoped? Easiest way when you get cursor on tag you'll see an info bar. Or you can list all tags by scope.
You can use controller scoped tags in all routines under all programs. But if you created a program tag, you can use it only routines under the same program.

tag_info.jpg

One time to use program scoped tags would be if you are going to develop a program and then want to duplicate that program in the same processor.

Since program tags are tied to a specific program you will have a separate set of program tags for each program.
This means that the tags in program 1 can be identical to the tags in program 2. (makes duplicating programs very quick)

If you tried to duplicate a program with your tags in the controller scope your program will not work because two separate programs would be accessing the same tags.

I sometimes make the analogy that a Logix5000 "Program" is in many respects similar to a "PLC", (eg. PLC5 or SLC), since each program has its own set of routines, and it's own data-storage area (Program-Scoped Tags).

And since a ControlLogix processor can have 100 Programs in the Continuous Task, you could, in effect combine the controlling functions of up to 100 separate PLC's into one ControlLogix processor.