Logix 5000 Timer Preset

Winklehoffen

So I'm just starting out with logix 5000 and am on to my second project.

In Logix 500, you can assign an integer file to a timer preset so that multiple timers can have the same preset and they can all be changed quickly and at the same time by adjusting the integer value.

In logix 5000 I can't assign a DINT tag to a timer preset so I have to MOV the DINT to the timer.pre. Is there a way of doing this easily so I don't have to have a MOV for each timer? I've got about 30 different timers all using the same preset and it would be nice if I could do it without 30 MOVs.

Just as I typed that I thought of using an add-on instruction which would work brilliantly in this case because the logic for each timer is the same. But how would you go about this if you wanted the same preset for a bunch of timers with different conditions?

In Logix 500, you can assign an integer file to a timer preset so that multiple timers can have the same preset and they can all be changed quickly and at the same time by adjusting the integer value.

I don't believe this is true. I think you have to move a common integer value into the timer's presets in RSLogix 500 also.

Bernie is correct, not only is that not the case, by you cannot even enter the letter N into the preset field in RSLogix 500.

However, to answer your question, if you place the thirty timers in an array then you can use the FAL instruction to set all 30 presets with a value from a single DINT or an array of DINTs.

You can create an alias to a timer preset, however each timer preset will have its own alias. You can also create an alias to each timer and still access the elements as .PRE and .DN, etc, allowing you to place them all in an array but still give each one a unique name via the alias.