PLC 5/40E, SLC 5/03, SLC 5/02 Diagnostics & DH485 Network Survey

JElder

Hello,

This is my first post and I'm fairly new to PLC's and systems to please bare with me :eek:

I wish to perform an intrusive network survey on a system to determine the following: -

Continuity Checks
Loading Checks
Loss/Margin Checks

The network consists of a main PLC which is connected to 5 node PLC's, 4 of which are SLC 5/03, one is SLC 5/02. The network is DH485.

I've been doing some reading on DH485 networks as they are not something I am familiar with although I believe the cables are made up of 2 x twisted pairs.

Is there a specific tool for performing continuity checks/loading checks/and loss/margin checks on these networks or can this be done through RSLinx?

Also how do I go about recording details such as Successful Messages, Transmit messages, bad messages, queue errors, link dead timeout, token claim won, token claim lost, SOL success, token retries, token fails etc

Can this be done through RSLinx?

Many thanks,

John

If your SLCs have diagnostic files assigned to their respective DH485 channels, you can view all of the traffic statistics by going online with each of them using RSLogix500. Look in the upper part of the left pane of RSLogix500 for Channel Configuration, and expand it to see the branch called Channel Status.

I highly recommend adding diagnostic files to your SLC programs if they aren't already there (requires offline programming and stopping the system to download).

Thanks, looking through the RSLogix 500 help file it seems the Channel Configuration data is what I need.

Can you check how loaded the network is in a similar fashion?

I.e. I would like to establish if it is running at full capacity

Right, back again.

I was at the site all day today with varying degrees of success.

They have a main PLC 5/40E, connected to 4 x SLC 5/03 PLC's and 1 x SLC 5/02 PLC.