Scaling Problem

jamalshahid

We have to replace 2 pressure transmitters before we were using 0-200 no we have to use -30 to 30 and we need a value of 0.3 psi at blower.
Program is made in Rslogix 5000. As you know after replacing pressure transmitters we need to do scaling.

Please help me how to do scaling. As i am new in this field. Help me !!
Input?

Input min -32767
Input max 32767
Scaled min ??
Scaled Max??
Out ?

If some one is interested in helping me. I can also send the program to you guys.

I tried but did not get the answer

DataOffset -32767
value at 4 mA DataMax
value at 20 mA DataSpan
Max - Offset If you know please help me how to get the answer. and also please help me in add on instruction

It has been covered many times in here. Please use search first, then if there is something you do not understand, ask.

based on what you've posted so far, try this:

Input MULTIPLIED BY 0.000915555 ...

if that doesn't work, we'll need more details about your system in order to help you ...

Greetings jamalshahid.

Scaling is done using the line equation y=mx + b where x is the input variable, m is the line slope, and b is the y intercept coordinate.

To compute the value of the slope we need to know the scaled span divided by the inputs span, or

m = (Scaled_Maximum - Scaled_Minimum) / (Input_Maximum - Input_Minimum).

and

b = Scaled_Minimum - (m*input_Minimum)

So we have m = (30 - (-30)) / (32767 - (-32768)) = 60/65535 = 0.0009155

b = (-30) - (m* (-32768)) = (-30) - (-30) = 0

So we have y = 0.0009155 * x

That's how Ron came up with his numbers.

Simply multiplying the raw analog input by that value using a MUL instruction will properly scale your input.