Why TCP / IP is not use in fieldbus?

azertyx

Hello everyone.
I'm studying industrial engineering; For a course in industrial communication, I must answer this question:
Why TCP / IP is little or not use in fieldbus? In witch case is TCP/IP protocol use in fieldbus? 🙃
Could someone give me a begin of answer?

TCP/IP is in use and is becoming more popular.
you need to look at the many comms. system histories.
Also the many types and stability of the various Fieldbus systems.
The current required at the remote locations
the number of conducters and availability of power.
E/net can not supply remote device power.
The requirements for safety bus systems

Actually there is standard for power over ethernet.

Ethernet in itself is used in many fieldbuses, like ethercat, profinet etc. But TCP is protocol stack, its slow and heavy one. So most do replace it with something else.

So study what TCP/IP actually is, then study few ethernet based fieldbuses and then compare them and advantages over TCP and you should be able to get the answer.

Last edited:
Hello everyone.
I'm studying industrial engineering; For a course in industrial communication, I must answer this question:
Why TCP / IP is little or not use in fieldbus? In witch case is TCP/IP protocol use in fieldbus? 🙃
Could someone give me a begin of answer?

1. TCP/IP is actually in wide use in fieldbus applications 2. TCP/IP (speaking generically) is not deterministic, which means that there is no guarantee of packets getting from source to destination in a timely fashion. This can be a concern for high-speed applications. For most applications though this detail is not a concern since (a) Ethernet is very very fast and (b) unless you have a huge network determinism is not necessary

The latest generation ethernet field buses, such as Profinet, Ethernet/IP and Powerlink, uses TCP/IP in combination with UDP, and special requirements for the network components involved.