Siemens S7300 FB41 PID help

tom_ocean

Hello all,
I am an electrical engineering student working on a senior design project with an industry sponsor. We are automating a burst test chamber and are completely new to plc programming. We are using siemens step 7. Trying to use a pid control function to ramp the pressure up inside a hydraulic hose following an exponential or linear setpoint curve. I am having trouble figuring out exactly how to configure this fb41 correctly for a changing setpoint. I have a basic understanding of all the different parameter of the function block, just don't know how to use them correctly apparently. Any help would be awesome. Thanks

Where are you calling FB41? If you don't call it out of OB35 (or other timer OB, depending on CPU) with the interupt time set to the same value as the "CYCLE" parameter in FB41 you'll get weird results and won't be able to get the control properly tuned.

I first created it in ob1 then read it needed to be called in ob35. I moved it to ob35 and created the db instance through start>simatic>step7>pid control paramter assignment. I made PVPER_ON true, using the P_sel and the I_sel, set the cycle time equal to the ob35 time, PV_PER is coming in from a "mw" assignment in ob1 moved from a "piw" assignment. I am assigning SP_int from a "md" memory I am writing to in ob1. The set point is changing every second in ob1. When I transfer the program to the PLC the SF red led comes on and I don't get any output. I can't figure out from all my reading what is going wrong. Any help would be awesome thanks

Hi!
You can get diagnosis if you highlight the CPU icon, rightclick, PLC / Module Information.
If you cannot understand it, post it here.

But I could always guess; you've forgotten to download the FB41 or it's instance DB, or you're addressing a non-existant analog in/out.

Kalle

Any help would be awesome thanks