Citect Alarms problem

Woodster7

Hi all this is a great site.
now im new to plcs and SCADA,

i got a Question for you guys out there that are the guns of citect now this may be one of thoes simple, haha look at this noob he cant fix that lol if so sorry.

i got 4 citect pc's 2 are servers and 2 are workstations ,
one is the dedicated server and one it the backup server, now the main server is keeping a alarm log on it but the alarm logs on the other 3 PC's have all stopped last dates are around mid year,
i got one PC working again by deleting all the log files and making a net Alarm txt , and it started working but the rest with no luck so far i have just mapped the main servers log file to them all to keep the bosses happy and something to look at.
how do i get them logging again?

yours truly
Woody

With your Primary and Standby servers do you ever turn both of them off. If both the primary and the standby keep their own alarm save file then they can get out of step.
If you only shut them down one at a time then depending on you're configuration whichever one is running will keep the corrupted file going.
If you can (depending on plant requirements) shutdown both servers then delete or move ALL the alarmsav.dat files you can find. The start up your servers then your clients. Your Clients don't always "talk" to the primary server. If for some reason they stop talking to their primary then they will swap over to their standby and remain. It is ONLY the Ioserver that will ALWAYS talk to the primary (provided the primary is OK)

Ok thanks will try this.
It looks like each PC keeps its own alarm log.
Each computer has a view log button with and input. Exec("c:\windows\system32\notepad.exe c:\citect\data\alarms.txt").
there is no actual alarm summary page setup just simply opens notpad.
is this a good practice??

also it is running citect v5.5 so bit behind the times.
and every area of the plant has its own project plus project for deviceIO Only.