Qualifications required

Fitzroy

Qualifications required ?
Can any one advise me as to what PLC courses /training qualification I will need to stand any chance of getting employment as a Maintenance Service Engineer?
My present qualifications are:

I am a qualified Electrician with 20 yrs Experience.
Know Pascal programming to a basic level
Know Cobol Programming to an intermediate level

Any recommended Books, CDs, Courses etc?

Work, work, work!

Some of your mates who frequent this site will probably be able to provide some specific things related to
getting employment as a Maintenance Service Engineer
more so than I. However, to get a leg up on PLCs you need to do several things.
1. Take the tutorial
2. Get Phil's book
3. Check out LogixPro here

And just put a lot of effort into what ever you do so someone will have a reason to hire you. No substitute for experience so to gain some you may have to accept a job that is a little less than what you want at first. I sounds to me like you are making a career change and that is a tough thing, but worthy of the task. Go for it!

Fitzroy

Originally posted by Fitzroy I am a qualified Electrician with 20 yrs Experience

I take it from that you mean a 'house bashing' sparky?

What qualifications did you get when you became an electrician, i.e City and Guilds?

Most employers are looking for people with a minimum HNC in electrical engineering when employing people as maintenance technicians (or service engineers as you have called them)

I have seen plenty of jobs advertised for technicians which require the applicant to have a 'knowledge' of PLC's, that doesn't mean being a wizz kid at programming, to give you a good basic knowledge of PLC's refer to Randys answer. Also you might consider buying 'programmable logic controllers' by Bill Bolton (ISBN 026-4136819-7490037).