Networking: Digiforce and Mitsubishi PLC Q

Bobbias

So, I've run into a bit of a difficult situation for one of my jobs.

The client wants us to network the PLC (a Q PLC), the HMI (a GOT), and the Digiforce (model 9310 /w ethernet, no modbus) over ethernet.

The problem is that as far as I can tell, there's no way to actually communicate between the Digiforce and the PLC/HMI... They want to be able to store force data in the PLC and be able to monitor it when they need to.

I've got very little knowledge on what the PLC is actually capable of as far as ethernet communications is concerned, but I've figure out what would be necessary to communicate with the Digiforce. The Digiforce supports ANSI x3.28 A4, and I have a copy of the manual for interfacing with it over ethernet using that standard, but as far as I can tell there's no way to program the PLC to be able to communicate that way with the Digiforce... Is there any way to send raw packets over ethernet from the PLC? Has anyone done anything like this before?

Is there maybe a converter somewhere out there that would convert the MC protocol messages into x3.28 messages? I understand that it would be possible for me to make a computer program capable of doing that, but I don't have the time to do that, and its something we are not prepared to attempt.

Really, nobody has anything to say about this? Damn, I was really hoping someone here could shed some light on things. Right now the plan seems to be to find a way to get the computer data logging from the digiforce and find a way to get that information into the program so it can be accessible to the PLC through something like an OPC setup or some similar manner.

Ok here's an update: the Digiforce can save it's data into Excel sheets in two different ways: It can save an Excel sheet which is updated with every measurement, or it can save individual excel sheets for each measurement.