Selecting the right PLC.

zer0net

Hello,
I'm new to PLC, I picked up all of the Phil Melore's books, they are pretty good. The online simulator is great but I want to get a physical unit and make myself a trainer and practice with that.

I have looked at the CLICK and TECO SG2 units they are both relatively cheap and offer a lot of functionality for the price.

Aside from building myself a trainer I want to try to build a temperature controller with it.

What I want to be able to do is, the unit should take input from a temperature sensor (a thermocouple) and then output to an actuator connected to a damper to open close (0 - 100%)

I understand that thermocouple will be an analog input, and I see that both CLICK and TECO have an analog inputs but I think the actuator will also be analog since its position will be variable. I did not see any analog outputs on either CLICK or TECO, Is there another way to achieve this without the analog output?

Thank you

There are a couple of possibilities. First, you can put a pot on the valve operator and use output contacts to move the operator until the feedback agrees with your set position +/- a deadband. This is essentially what the comparator and analog positioner on an electric valve operator do.

The second choice, if you are going use PID for your temperature control, is to use what is called the heat/cool output. The AutomationDirect.com manual explains how to do this. It essentially has timed open/close outputs, with the time of operation proportional to the PID output.