Keeping track of large programs

vpelleri

V
Hello,
This is my first post in this forum. I'm fairly new to PLC's as well. I've installed 2 Direct Logic DL06's so far. My question to everyone is "What or how do you keep track of all your ins/outs/memory locations/etc. on larger programs? My ladders are only about 50 rungs and my head swims sometimes when I try remember if I've done something yet or not(program-wise). If the rung goes off the screen it's a real chore to keep up with the ANDs and ORs. SO, I'm just wondering if there are any rulls of thumb or flow charting techniques that might help keep everything straight.

Thanks for your help!

Art

Many ways, many tools

To tell you the truth, this is probably as individual as the programming techniques themselves. As the software and hardware have evolved over the years, I found myself relying more on logging than memory for sure. You can use the built in cross-referencing in most programming software, or some of the other features of the mfg's stuff. I have used Excel for keeping track of used bits, and words in my data table for the A-B PLCs so I presume you can do the same thing easily enough with other brands. Also, if you think 50 rungs is a large program and gives you headaches just wait till you get a real BIG job. Several hundred up to a few thousand rungs is not out of the realm of possibility for today's PLC applications. You are just getting involved in this so sit back and enjoy the ride, while pondering what the heck to do next. It is fun, you know?

As randylud said:
- Keep all memory maps in Excel.
- Create all descriptors in Excell also and copy them to the program.
- Structure you ladder with subroutines, so you will see what is not programmed yet and easy to trace later on.
- Use a common address structure for all projects.