Safety PLC I/O Points

I have limited experience with the controllogix and compactlogix plc's in terms of safety but I have a project for a grinder system that will have 4 estop buttons and 6 limit switch's that are all hard wired in series with the stop and start buttons to start all the motors on the other similar grinders we have.

I was looking to maybe use 1768-L45S controller but I thought on safety plc systems the I/O had to be redundant and that does not seem to be the case on this unit?

If someone could clarify this for me just a little it would be very helpful.

You are asking multiple questions here.

For any system to be safe, you must first do a risk assessment (with maintenace, operations, safety, and engineering involved). From this risk assessment, you will determine what kind of risk category you are in and what is needed for a properly designed safety system. There is no requirement that all I/O has to be dual channel or redundant.

One thing that is needed is that the system be designed properly. If someone gets hurt, then this document will find its way into court. If there is no documented risk assessment, then rest assured that will also be brought up.

There are many documents out there that describe the task of assessing the risk.

Here is one that I use because I like the banner safety controller: http://www.bannerengineering.com/en...E-Safety-Controller-with-Ethernet/#literature

Also there is some good stuff on the AB site and the STI site.

As for wiring the e-stop and start and stop buttons in series, I would say that is a improperly designed system. That really doesn't meet the definition of an estop since it is in series with the stop pushbutton and an e-stop requires seperate reset before being able to start the machine.